U2 Releasing 30th Anniversary Edition of The Joshua Tree

This year marks the 30th anniversary of U2’s incredibly influential album, The Joshua Tree. Some might argue that Joshua Tree is the U2 album, a sort of alpha and omega. First they announced The Joshua Tree Tour 2017, wherein U2 will play the album in it’s entirety, and then expanded that tour, which was all incredibly exciting news, as it was. But if that wasn’t enough, U2 has announced the reissue of their seminal album in a massive, sprawling packaging.

This new reissue will feature demos, studio outtakes, B-sides and the recording of a Madison Square Garden concert from 1987. It will also feature new remixes of six of the original songs from producers like St Francis Hotel, Jacknife Lee, Daniel Lanois, Steve Lillywhite, Brian Eno and Flood. The packaging varies in a few different formats: a super-deluxe box set (vinyl, digital and CD), a two-disk deluxe set (CD and digital), and standard editions in digital, CD and vinyl. The physical copies of the super-deluxe box sets will include exclusive, unseen personal photography from The Edge, taken during their 1986 photo shoot in the Mojave Desert.

The Joshua Tree 30th Anniversary Edition releases on June 2. The vinyl super-deluxe box set is incredibly expensive, but super worth it, we imagine.

The Joshua Tree 30th Anniversary Edition

The Joshua Tree
01. Where the Streets Have No Name
02. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
03. With Or Without You
04. Bullet the Blue Sky
05. Running to Stand Still
06. Red Hill Mining Town
07. In God’s Country
08. Trip Through Your Wires
09. One Tree Hill
10. Exit
11. Mothers of the Disappeared

The Joshua Tree Live at Madison Square Garden 1987
01. Where the Streets Have No Name
02. I Will Follow
03. Trip Through Your Wires
04. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
05. MLK
06. Bullet the Blue Sky
07. Running to Stand Still
08. In God’s Country
09. Sunday Bloody Sunday
10. Exit
11. October
12. New Year’s Day
13. Pride (In the Name of Love)
14. With Or Without You
15. Party Girl
16. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
17. “40”

“One Tree Hill” 2017 Remix (St Francis Hotel)
“Bullet the Blue Sky” 2017 Remix (Jacknife Lee)
“Running To Stand Still” 2017 Remix (Daniel Lanois)
“Red Hill Mining Town” 2017 Mix (Steve Lillywhite)
“With or Without You” 2017 Remix (Daniel Lanois)
“Where The Streets Have No Name” 2017 Remix (Flood)

“I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” (Lillywhite Alternative Mix ’87)
“One Tree Hill Reprise” (Brian Eno 2017 Mix)
“Silver and Gold (Sun City)”
“Beautiful Ghost/Introduction to Songs of Experience”
“Wave Of Sorrow (Birdland)”
“Desert of Our Love”
“Rise Up”
“Drunk Chicken/America”

“Luminous Times (Hold on to Love)”
“Walk to the Water”
“Spanish Eyes”
“Deep in the Heart”
“Silver and Gold”
“Sweetest Thing”
“Race Against Time”

Radiohead’s New Album Drops May 8th, Here Is Their New Video For ‘Daydreaming’

Radiohead has been operating from a place of mystery leading up the release of their ninth studio album.
However, all mysteries must reveal themselves eventually, and Radiohead are no different. First, we finally heard a song (and saw the video) for the single “Burn The Witch.” Now, another song from the album has been unveiled, and perhaps most importantly, we have a release date for the album.

The rumors had been circulating that Radiohead’s follow up to 2011’s The King of Limbs would be coming out in June. It turns out that was not ambitious enough, as the album is being released digitally on Sunday, May 8, presumably as a gift to all the mothers of the United States. Physical copies of the still-untitled LP will drop on June 17.

We know when the album is coming out thanks to the release of the video for “Daydreaming” on Radiohead’s official YouTube channel. The video is directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, known for films such as Boogie Nights, There Will Be Blood, and Inherent Vice. Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood often provides music for Anderson’s films, so it is only natural for him to return the favor by directing the clip.

Unlike the “Burn the Witch” video, which was a weird, trippy, animated clip, we actually get to see Thom Yorke in the video for “Daydreaming.” However, similar to “Burn the Witch,” this song is super good. Get excited for the new Radiohead album, people, and get ready for it to drop on May 8.

[youtube id=”TTAU7lLDZYU” width=”600″ height=”350″]

The Bigger Picture, Fanciful Depictions of the Area Outside the Margins of Iconic Album Covers

In The Bigger Picture, web design company Aptitude imagines what exists just outside the margins of some of popular music’s most iconic covers, from Michael Jackson to Adele.

In this digital age, buying an album has become less about buying a physical package to buying a digital version out of convenience. So in honour of a once coveted industry standard, we take a look at some of the most iconic album covers over the years and put our own spin on them by revealing ‘the bigger picture’.

album-1 album-2 album-3